Why are we so silent?

image

imageI’m very disappointed in humanity right now. Deeply disappointed. It’s very easy to look at the situation in the Middle East and conclude “None of My Business, what’s more, I don’t even understand the dynamics at play in that part of the world. Let me just carry on with my own life. What is it to me?” Shocking.

Let me take you down a road you’ve probably never thought of traveling.

My dad has always had some sort of small business or another. Whatever you can think of, he sold. Shoes, chickens, eggs, groceries, everything. This was in the townships in the eighties, at the height of apartheid. State of emergency and all that chaos. Back then he never really owned a shop, we sold these things out of the house we lived in or the garage or the back of the van he had. You are probably thinking, Oh poor them, they must have been squashed in their little township four-roomed house.

You are right, we were, but who wasn’t back then. But there was a certain pride that went with that. We were in business. Yes he didn’t have business cards embossed with golden letters but people looked at us and thought they are quite fortunate. They have a business. School holidays meant leaving the village to spend time selling something, anything in Johannesburg.

The business was not limited to our house only. A bit later, when I was 10 or 11 my dad acquired a Peugeot van. Wasn’t much to look at but it did the business. He’d carry the stock and place me and the wares by an entrance to an all-male hostel very close to where we lived.

These hostels were apartheid’s attempt at providing accommodation to black fathers who had left their loved ones back in the rural homelands, usually five to six hours(or more) away to come and build the urban economy that kept apartheid’s wheels turning. These men survived up to eleven months a year without seeing their loved ones.

My dad understood their material needs, so when he placed me and the goods by the entrance to the hostel we were an instant hit. These were hard men who did back breaking work during the day but never once did I feel threatened by them. In fact, there wasn’t a place safer to do business for an eleven-year-old left alone to look after large quantities of goods. Some of the men got to know me by name.

And then one day, a yellow police van with two white policemen parked some distance away from my selling point. With the exception of the usual dreaded feeling one got in the presence of the Afrikaner members of the force, I was ok. Nothing new. The men who were entering the hostel all cast a glance in the direction of the van and then muttered something that ended with some sort of profanity. After a while, the police car reversed back to where I was.

“Whose goods are these?”, the policeman driving the van asked.
“My father’s”, I replied. Proud to hold my own in a language I was still learning.
“Where is he?”
“At home”.
“How much are your Benson and Hedges Gold cigarettes?”, the policeman asked. After telling him the price he requested that I pass a pack onto him. I must admit I was wasn’t entirely comfortable just looking at these two bulky Afrikaner males both spotting thick mustaches. They kept looking around as if something was wrong. As soon as I handed the pack of twenty cigarettes to him, the police van took off racing away, without paying.

I was shocked. How was I going to explain this to my dad? How would he believe that men of the law could commit such a blatantly unlawful act?

When I related the story to my dad later, all he could say was “Bastards!”. I didn’t understand why the police acted in the way they did. Why they would target a defenseless little kid like me. Why they would choose to perform that act when no one was watching. They had waited till no one could see them. With all their might and power, they still needed to hide their defenseless acts.

Later, when I was older, I understood that even the mightiest of people felt ashamed when attacking the weak and defenseless. But more to the point, when I grew up I discovered that the actions of those policemen were like those of an occupying army. They were joined in their actions by the South African Defence Force in their day-and-night patrols of the townships. And they spread terror. What happened to me that day was nothing compared to the horrible deeds they carried out on others. It made me scared of them. I detested  them too.

I was therefore heartened when I learned of the many friends we had internationally who helped us put pressure on the occupying force to “leave” us in peace.

In 1988 in London the British people put together a spectacle beyond measure to help us celebrate one of our own, Nelson Mandela, who was then in prison. They put together his 70th birthday celebration through a music concert that gladdened the heart of anyone watching. Freedom in our Lifetime was the demand, by people thousands of miles away. People we had never met. People who could only imagine what our daily lives must have been like.

No one wanted to know how we conducted ourselves in fighting the unjust actions of an occupying force. The system was declared a crime against humanity and could not be justified.

As the death toll in Palestine climbed above the 1000 mark this week I could not help but ask myself why people are asking a million questions about the way the Palestinian people defend themselves in the face of a mighty occupying force. It’s not a force that started occupying when the “war” started, it’s a force that is constantly there, everyday. Spreading fear.

When I think of the actions of those two policemen that day in the eighties I can’t help but think that there is a ten-year-old Palestinian boy somewhere, a boy wondering just like I did why grown men would act like that, attack a small, defenseless child when no one is watching. Why they feel no shame in doing that because it’s only natural to feel ashamed when taking advantage of the weak and helpless.

The child does not care one bit for the politics behind the occupation, the religions that keep being blamed and God’s supposed hand in all of this. That child, like me back then, is just wondering why other human beings would behave like that towards their own kind, unless they don’t see themselves as being of their kind.

That child is asking what kind of a war sees more than 300 children killed out of 1000 dead in a supposed war against terrorists. That child is asking how three four-year-old boys playing on a beach can be killed in a “war” against terrorists.

That child, when he discovers that the world once turned into an international army against another occupying force and staged the biggest birthday party for a jailed leader will ask, why is the same world so silent when that jailed leader had once declared “Our freedom will never be complete without the freedom of the Palestinian” people.

Like me, that child is disappointed in the response of the world because he thinks it’s not about politics, it’s about being human. It’s not about being anti-Semitic or pro-Hamas, it’s about being human. No other human being should be allowed to instill fear in another human being through the might of their weapons. That child hopes you read this and felt sorry for him and his people and not judged the author’s politics, religious beliefs or insensitivity to the plight of the Jewish people.

He asks himself the question, how is this a war when only one side is armed to the teeth and using its might to kill three hundred kids. Kids. And he wonders, could I be next?

10 responses

  1. Hi Sydney. I am guilty of this. And even after I read this, I may not do enough here. I hope sharing your story with my connections will spread the word and the feeling, and ultimately help.

    This article is really heartfelt.

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading Anke. We are all guilty of this. The world has somehow gotten used to the suffering and death that is happening over there. I think the little actions that we take will contribute towards a world search for piece in that region. Nobody deserves to live under constant threats of death.

      Like

  2. I have been heartened by the number of protests held and the growing list of people demanding an end to the siege. Sadly though, the numbers still aren’t there. I’ve raised my own voice quite a lot in the last several years, writing to elected representatives and trying to raise awareness, but it is not easy when so many people retort, “anti-Semite,” without even listening to the argument. No one who is not anti-Semitic wants to be accused of that and it’s been an effective way of shutting down conversation for years. I’ve spoken to people who are on Israel’s “side” without even being able to offer an explanation for that stance, or why there should be a side. They just know that they are and they don’t want to talk about it. Ironically, as I’ve tried to explain to friends, if one is on Israel’s side all the more reason to oppose the occupation because this surely puts Israel’s security and future more at risk. And in the meantime, generation after generation of Palestinians are being born into a world where they believe that Israel’s sole occupation is to kill them and the world looks on without a word. That is a very dangerous situation. It is a heartbreaking thing but the least we, all of us, can do is refuse to turn away because we should have to see what is happening as a result of our silence.

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading Brandee. You are so right. Any discussion on the Middle East question is often almost immediately shot down by accusations of anti-Semitism. I am really heartened when I hear Desmond Tutu speak out against the occupation because his voice carries moral authority. I read an article this week that says exactly what you are saying, Israel will never attain peace when all their actions breed is hatred. What people miss is that violence against the Palestinian people is not only through bullet and bombs, rather, it’s through the daily humiliation of living under siege, endless border controls and checkpoints, being packed away like sardines in settlements not very up similar to the homelands we had.

      Such violence passes unnoticed and when they retaliate through the very few channels they can use, bombs rain down on them, and we keep silent. Not on!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I”m not sure that we’ve gotten used to suffering, I think it’s that after a certain point, there just seem to be no solutions. You can’t reason with people, you can’t get any one to see things from a point of view other than their own, you can’t stop the hate. Personally, I have lost all hope and faith in humanity. Individually, there are always good people who are doing their best to do the right thing and make a difference, but as a whole, we just seem to be a self-centered, self-destructive, hate-filled species. I have no idea how to change things, so I just can’t cope with it any more and choose to ignore it until there is something specific I can do, perhaps on a one-to-one basis. Give your money to OxFam, that sort of thing.

    It’s kind of like after years of seeing beautiful nature shows that always end with the ‘this species is almost extinct, this rain forest is being destroyed, etc.’, just let me see the pretty and shut up about the rest, because there is nothing I can do about it anyway, and it’s getting too damned depressing, thank you.

    I’ve spend my life trying to do the right thing and vote for the right people and support the right causes, (right being right in the Buddhist sense), and it hasn’t changed one thing. Being older than dirt, I think it’s okay if I just give up. IDEK

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading, I had no idea people older than dirt read my stuff. LOL. I think the danger in doing nothing or saying nothing allows those bloodthirsty bigots think they have your permission to act in the way they do. I refuse to lend my name to a cause designed to prop up one nation at the expense of another. No one person is better than another, none. And whilst I an still say it, I will strive to because others did it for me when they didn’t know me. I think you can still say “Not in my name”.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do what I can. I sign the petitions, I vote for who I think is the best person for the job, etc. It just gets so disheartening. How many years has this particular conflict been going on? I remember the Six-Day War many, many years ago. All the cease-fires, and the political maneuvering. Jimmy Carter. And yet, it just never ends.

        Like

  4. We have spent a lot of human history becoming desensitized to the suffering of others. We have also spent much time boosting the egos of those who hold power without responsibility and in the absence of morality.
    We support this latter group with our buying choices, our lifestyle choices and viewing choices and more. Why should they listen to us when we remonstrate against their other actions in the world.
    Perhaps we need to do something about our own personal contradictions to enable there to be a clear humanitarian field of vision for these others to find it harder to act unself-consciously about the evils they unleash into the world?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mama D, thank you so much for reading. You’ve hit the nail on the head, if humanity will not rise in unison against tyranny, then the individual must do all they can to make their displeasure felt, no matter how little hey might deem their action to be. Insightful as always. Glad you take your time to come past here.

      Like

  5. […] Why are we so silent? at The Truth Shall Set You Free […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Black eye mag

Because there's no black future without no black vision

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

ellisnelson

children's author

micahdoes

Living wide and eating well.

How Leaders Manage

Shape your Character change your life.

On The Heath

where would-be writer works with words

♥♥SOSHI LOVE ♥♥

My life & Korean language journey

MamaDimensions

Being, in all the ways, Living, in all the ways, Communicating, in all the ways, Loving, in all the ways

Sweden and the Middle East Views

Articles, updates & views - from another angle than in your mainstream Western media

TB Joshua Watch

A comprehensive resource on TB Joshua and SCOAN

Hopefully Bikiniskinni

About my journey to becoming, hopefully, bikini skinny.

Little Miss Understood

Striving to be better one post at a time.

bluestockings magazine

bluestockings is an intersectional, anti-oppressive publication that commits to centering voices of people from marginalized and historically resilient communities, across multiple axes of oppressed identity.

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Tea With Charlie

Your Daily Cup of T.

What Beautiful Light

Photos, Commentary, and Videos by Rudy Owens

chanyado

Chanyado. Shade. Respite from the sun. A place under the tree to rest my head, and wiggle my toes out in the sun.

One Man's Opinion

The views gained from leading an interesting life.

The Newswatch Television Official Blog

Telling America's Story for Over 20 Years

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

The World I Want

creating space

Artfully Aspiring

Making Every Day A Masterpiece

borderlineblossom

A fight with my Life

Bold Blind Beauty

Real Beauty Transcends Barriers

Akanyang Africa

An Informed View of South Africa, Africa and the World

